What are your must-see and must-read plays? (This is not a rhetorical question)

Recently, I’ve been working through a ‘bucket list’ of Films To Watch Before You Die. So far this has included Chinatown, Reservoir Dogs, and Wall-E; I have a long way to go (via Apocalypse Now, The Godfather, a lot of Hitchcock and Kubrick …) but hopefully there’s time to work through them all, God and runaway buses willing!

Now, in the spirit of cross-pollination;  I am reciprocating with a theatrical version of this bucket list.

This got me thinking … how do we decide which plays should be included, and why? Are some better to watch than read, or to read than watch?

I’d like to open this up to you: Which plays do you believe should be read and/or seen before you die? Which swept you away, and which left you cold despite their elevated reputation? Which have taught you something, which have made you feel something, and which are just incredible entertainment?

Any thoughts would be most welcome; I’ll let you know my findings soon … there are certainly plenty I want to work my way through!

We look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

